Black and White Woven Scarf

IMG_4585

Sometimes you just want to weave something simple and quick.

I had a complex project on my 4-harness floor loom but my rigid heddle loom was empty. The new 5 dent heddle was calling me so I decide to warp a simple black and white scarf.

IMG_4137

Here are some of the design choices:

  1. I was thinking this might make a nice scarf for a man so the dimensions in the loom would be 12″ wide and 6′ long. After reading how some weavers always start and end with a hole, not a slot, I warped 61 ends.
  2. I wanted a white accent so I replaced 4 of the warp threads with white. I knew that if I placed them side by side, the white yarns would be in both sheds and create a diagonal pattern. Instead, I threaded them every other end so that all four would be in the same shed. I set the stripe close to one edge to create an asymmetrical design.

IMG_4138

After weaving a few inches, I was unhappy with the structure. The weave was not balanced as I wanted it to be. So I “unwove” the scarf, “unwound” the warp, “unthreaded” the heddle and replaced it with an 8 dent. Then I rethreaded, rewound, rewove. I like weaving, so it really wasn’t like work. As a result, the scarf ended up narrower than first designed, just less than 8″ wide, but the weave is balanced and the width is fine.

Although I had planned to make it 6′ long, I decided to just keep weaving until there was no more warp. It is about 6’6″ long. Scarves can never be too long when you are wrapping them up to keep you warm. I hem stitched and trimmed the fringe to 1.5″. This seemed a more “manly” length then the usual 3-6″ I like to leave.

The yarn I used is Premier Everyday in color Charcoal Heather. It is lovely, soft with a nice drape.

IMG_4588

I hope you like the scarf. As always, your polite and helpful comments are welcome.

Leave a comment