Christmas Truck Hat Ornament

I made this hat ornament for a receptionist at one of the offices I visit. She was putting up holiday decorations and mentioned that she really liked the “Christmas Truck”. I had never heard of it, but after a quick google search I realized that it is everywhere. It is usually an old red pickup truck with one or more Christmas trees in the back.

You can find wall art.

There are fabrics and quilt patterns.

The crochet projects are more likely to be 3D objects.

There are cross stitch patterns.

But of course I was looking for something to knit.

I looked around for some chart. There were lots of large, complex designs, but I decided to do a version of the smaller, less detailed charts so it would fit on a small ornament.

I first knit the hat using a DK weight donegal tweet wool. The design is my first attempt at duplicate stitch. I knit the hat flat to make the embroidered design easier. Since no one was going to actually wear the hat, it didn’t matter that there was a seam in the back. I watched lots of YouTube videos to learn the duplicate stitch. I don’t know why I waited so long to try it. It is not very hard. The design is acrylic yarn. I wouldn’t ordinarily mix wool and acrylic, but again, no one is actually going to wear it.

I used the smallest size pom pom maker to make a little red pom pom and used one of the strings to make a loop.

Here is the pattern for the hat:

I hope you like the Christmas Truck Hat Ornament. As always, your polite and helpful comments are welcome.

One thought on “Christmas Truck Hat Ornament

Leave a comment